Alberta Association Of Recreation Facility Personnel ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Attended by 173 Constituted members

1. Call to Order

President Aaron Singh (Spruce Grove) called the meeting to order at 10:30 am on April 29, 2014 in Jasper. Aaron introduced the Board members of the Association that were in attendance and welcomed all members old and new who were attending the conference. We had 95 new attendees at conference.

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion by Chris McKenna (Blackfalds): "That we accept the agenda as presented on page 3 of the Annual Report."

Second by Elise Shelley (Calgary)

Carried

3. Approval of the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, April 30, 2013

Motion by Colleen Sparrow (Edmonton): "That we accept the minutes from the Annual General Meeting, April 30, 2013 in Canmore as presented on pages 4 -7 of the Annual Report." Seconded by Calvin Bennefield (Lacombe)

Carried

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

5. Executive Reports as Circulated

* President	Aaron Singh	Spruce Grove
*Treasurer	Neven Wilson	Cochrane
* Education Rep.	Gerald Curran	Sherwood Park
* Associate Rep.	Willie Jurcevic	Calgary
* Executive Director	Kim Snell	Edmonton

Motion by Willie Jurcevic (Calgary): "To accept as information the Executive Board Reports as presented on pages 2, 8, and 10-12 of the 2013 Annual Report."

Seconded by Allan King (Camrose)

Carried

6. New Business

A. 2013 Financial Report

Neven Wilson (Cochrane) presented the financial report to the members for information.

Motion by Neven Wilson (Cochrane): "That the membership accepts as information the 2013 Financial Report as presented on Pages 15-17 of the 2013 Annual Report."

Seconded by Cindy Driscoll (Edmonton)

Carried

B. 2014 Proposed Budget/2015 Shadow Budget (information)

Motion by Neven Wilson (Cochrane): "That the membership accepts the 2014 budget as presented at the 2014 AGM and on page 18 of the Annual Report." Seconded by Tom Peters (Leduc)

Carried

C. Appointment of Auditor

Motion by Neven Wilson (Cochrane): "That the firm of KPMG be appointed as the Association Auditor for 2014."

Seconded by Chris Biensch (Edmonton)

Carried

D. Future Conference Hosts: 2015 Banff

The 2015 Conference has been awarded to Banff. Suzanne Gaida of the 2015 Conference Committee provided a report on next year's conference which will be held **April 26-29, 2015**.

Motion by Pat Chomyszyn (Spruce Grove): "That we accept as information the 2015 conference report as presented."

Seconded by: Murray Bretzer (Wainwright)

Carried

F) Election of Officers

Aaron turned the chair over to Suzanne Gaida, Past President, who was identified as the Election Officer for the Annual General Meeting. Suzanne reviewed the election process with the attendees.

The following members have volunteered to serve as Returning Officers. In the event of a vote they will distribute blank ballots, collect completed ballots and count ballots. They are Willie Jurcevic (Calgary), Don Dombrosky (Edmonton), and Chris McKenna (Blackfalds).

Position of President

Our Bylaws do not require an election for the position of President. The President Elect, who was nominated and elected into the position by the membership at the 2012 Annual General Meeting, ascends to the position of President when the position becomes vacant or at the end of the President's two year term. The current President's term will expire as of the end of this Annual General Meeting.

Therefore, as Chair of this Annual General Meeting I declare Sandi Stewart (Lacombe), President of the Alberta Association of Recreation Facility Personnel.

i) President Elect -

The Nominating Committee has received the following nominations for the position of President Elect:

Russ Tanner (Brooks), nominated by Randy Russell (Cardston).

Motion by Chris Biensch (Edmonton): "To close nominations for the position of President Elect."

Seconded by Colleen Sparrow (Edmonton)
Carried

ii) Education Rep -

The Nominating Committee has received the following nominations for the position of Education Rep:

Chris Biensch (Edmonton), nominated by Don Dombrosky (Edmonton). Sonia Dodd (Stettler), nominated by Sharon Klinger (Ponoka). Stuart Ray (Cochrane), nominated by John Napier (Cochrane).

Motion by Calvin Bennefield (Lacombe): "To close nominations for the position of Education Rep."

Seconded Fran Sosnoski (Rocky Mountain House)

Carried

The nominees had the opportunity to make a 5-minute presentation to the Annual General Meeting

Based on receiving the majority of votes in the election, Suzanne Gaida (Cochrane) declared Stuart Ray (Cochrane) elected to the position of Education Rep for the Alberta Association of Recreation Facility Personnel.

Motion by Colleen Sparrow (Edmonton): "To destroy the ballots." Seconded by Yvonne McNabb (Jasper)
Carried

iii) Zone Representatives

The membership of the Zones held elections yesterday. The following members were nominated and elected to the positions of Zone Representative. Would each person please stand and be acknowledged:

Calgary Zone –Elise Shelley (Calgary)
North West Zone –Mitch Carter (Wabasca)
North Central Zone –Carol Dunnigan (Spruce Grove)
South Zone – Renee Fenwick (Medicine Hat)

Motion by Pat Chomyszyn (Spruce Grove): "To instruct the President to cast a single ballot for Elise Shelley, Renee Fenwick, Carol Dunnigan, and Mitch Carter as Zone Representatives for the Alberta Association of Recreation Facility Personnel.

Seconded by Chris Enders (Fort Saskatchewan)
Carried

Suzanne Gaida (Cochrane) declared Elise Shelley, Renee Fenwick, Carol Dunnigan and Mitch Carter, Zone Representatives.

iv) Associate Representative

The Associate Members held elections yesterday. Willie Jurcevic (Calgary) was nominated and elected to the position of Associate Representative.

Motion by Esther Clintberg (Edmonton): "To instruct the Secretary to cast a single ballot for Willie Jurcevic (Calgary) as Associate Representative for the Alberta Association of Recreation Facility Personnel." Seconded by Randall Tate (Calgary)

Carried

Suzanne Gaida (Cochrane) declared Willie Jurcevic (Calgary) Associate Representative.

Suzanne Gaida turned the remainder of meeting to the chair Aaron Singh, President.

7. Adjournment

Many thanks went out to the Conference Committee for their hard work and putting on a successful conference, the office staff for their continued dedication and hard work to this association and the Board of Directors who continue to show great support to this organization.

Motion by Don Dombrosky (Edmonton): "That we hold the next Annual General Meeting of the Alberta Association of Recreation Facility Personnel on April 28, 2015 at 10:15 am in Banff, Alberta."

Seconded by Stuart Ray (Cochrane)

Carried

Motion by Randy Russell (Cardston): "That the 2013 Annual General meeting is adjourned."

Seconded by Chris Enders (Fort Saskatchewan)

Carried